Which teams will compete in the knockout round?

Argentina, Australia, France, and Poland were added to the list of national teams who will compete in the World Cup's knockout round on Wednesday.

The United States is one of sixteen teams who will compete for a spot in the tournament's quarterfinals.

Mexico and Tunisia defeated their rivals in the final round of group play on Wednesday, but they were unable to advance and were sent home.

After failing to advance out of its group for the first time since 1978, Mexico's coach was fired.

The team defeated Saudi Arabia 2-1 on Wednesday, but it wasn't enough to advance since Argentina defeated Poland 2-0 in another game that was taking place at the same time.

Mexico coach Garardo said, "I must state that I bear full responsibility for this colossal disaster." Martino said, "Tata."

Martino had received harsh criticism for the team's lack of scoring as well as other decisions, like as leaving out Javier "Chicharito" Hernandez, the game's all-time leading scorer.

Want More
Like This?